Skip to content
PointsDog

Head to head · issuer terms as read 2026-08-30

Freedom Unlimited vs Citi Double Cash

Both charge $0 a year. Freedom Unlimited earns Cash back (Ultimate Rewards points); Citi Double Cash earns cash back (redeemable as ThankYou Points via conversion). Both have a cash floor we can stand behind at 1.0¢, so the receipts below compare them in the same unit.

On the published earn tables, Freedom Unlimited leads on dining & restaurants, drugstores; Citi Double Cash leads on everything else; the rest tie. Credits, as the issuers state them, add up to $120 a year on Freedom Unlimited and $0 on Citi Double Cash — if you would have spent that money anyway. Monthly credits have breakage; count only the ones you'd really use.

The terms, side by side

Freedom UnlimitedCiti Double Cash
Annual fee$0$0
Foreign transaction feeForeign fee unconfirmedForeign fee unconfirmed
EarnsCash back (Ultimate Rewards points)cash back (redeemable as ThankYou Points via conversion)
Transfers to partnersNoNo
Credits stated2 · $120/yr if fully used0
Welcome offer, as statedEarn a $200 bonus after you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.Not shown on the public page we read

Earn rates by category, as stated

CategoryFreedom UnlimitedCiti Double Cash
Dining & restaurants3%base rate
Travel booked through the issuer's portal5%5%
Drugstores3%base rate
Everything else1.5%2%

Green = the higher stated multiplier. Brand-specific, promotional and rotating rates are on each card page, not modeled here.

What each nets at sample spend

Three sample monthly budgets, every point at 1.0¢ (the Pay-with-Points floor we paid), fee subtracted, no credits counted. Estimates, not promises — your spend is the input that matters.

Run your own spend

Questions people ask

Which has the lower annual fee, Freedom Unlimited or Citi Double Cash?
They're the same: $0 a year, as stated on the issuers' pages on 2026-08-30.
Does Freedom Unlimited or Citi Double Cash charge foreign transaction fees?
Freedom Unlimited: foreign fee unconfirmed. Citi Double Cash: foreign fee unconfirmed. Read off each issuer's page on 2026-08-30.
Which earns more on dining?
Freedom Unlimited states 3%; Citi Double Cash states no dining rate.
Can I transfer points to airline and hotel partners?
Freedom Unlimited: no (14 partners on the official list). Citi Double Cash: no (20 partners on the official list).
Which is better for me?
It depends on where your spend goes. The receipts on this page use sample spend profiles at 1.0¢ per point; the Card Stack Optimizer runs your own numbers against every card we track, net of the annual fee.
What we couldn't confirm
  • Freedom Unlimited: Foreign transaction fee is not stated anywhere on the fetched official product page — set to null rather than guessed.
  • Freedom Unlimited: Network confirmed as Visa via Chase's own /visa-credit-cards listing page (card is not identified as Visa in plain text on its own product page). Whether it issues as Visa Signature or Visa Platinum reportedly depends on applicant creditworthiness/credit line per third-party sources — not confirmed on the issuer page itself.
  • Freedom Unlimited: Page does not state whether cash back/points on this card can be transferred to airline or hotel transfer partners; transferPartners set to false per instructions default for Freedom cards, not because the page affirmatively said so.
  • Citi Double Cash: Foreign transaction fee: page states 'Fee for foreign purchases – % of the U.S. dollar amount of each purchase' but the percentage rendered as an unfilled placeholder in every fetch attempted. Could not confirm the exact percentage from the issuer page, so set to null rather than use a remembered/third-party figure.
  • Citi Double Cash: Welcome offer: page's bonus text also rendered as unfilled placeholders ('Earn $ cash back bonus after spending $ on purchases in the first months'). Could not confirm exact dollar amount or spend requirement from citi.com itself (third-party sites report $200/$1,500 in 6 months, but this is unconfirmed on the issuer page), so welcomeOffer.summary set to null.
  • Citi Double Cash: transferPartners set to false: the fetched page describes redeeming as cash, gift cards, Amazon, or travel, and did not state that points/cash back from this card can be transferred to airline/hotel ThankYou transfer partners (that capability is generally reserved for Citi Premier/Strata Premier/Prestige-tier cards); this card's cash back can be pooled with a transfer-eligible Citi card per general Citi ThankYou program rules, but that was not stated on the fetched page itself.
  • Citi Double Cash: Network confirmed via on-page statement: 'The Citi Double Cash® Card is a Mastercard credit card that provides Cardmembers with cash back rewards.'

One email per trip report.

No card pitches. Unsubscribe in one tap.

List opens at launch.