Skip to content
PointsDog

Head to head · issuer terms as read 2026-08-30

Freedom Flex vs Freedom Unlimited

Both charge $0 a year. Both earn Cash back (Ultimate Rewards points), so a point is worth the same on either card and the comparison is purely rates, fee and credits.

On the published earn tables, Freedom Flex leads on no category; Freedom Unlimited leads on everything else; the rest tie. Credits, as the issuers state them, add up to $0 a year on Freedom Flex and $120 on Freedom Unlimited — if you would have spent that money anyway. Monthly credits have breakage; count only the ones you'd really use.

The terms, side by side

Freedom FlexFreedom Unlimited
Annual fee$0$0
Foreign transaction feeForeign fee unconfirmedForeign fee unconfirmed
EarnsCash back (Ultimate Rewards points)Cash back (Ultimate Rewards points)
Transfers to partnersNoNo
Credits stated12 · $120/yr if fully used
Welcome offer, as statedEarn a $200 bonus after you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.Earn a $200 bonus after you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.

Earn rates by category, as stated

CategoryFreedom FlexFreedom Unlimited
Dining & restaurants3%3%
Travel booked through the issuer's portal5%5%
Drugstores3%3%
Everything else1%1.5%

Green = the higher stated multiplier. Brand-specific, promotional and rotating rates are on each card page, not modeled here.

What each nets at sample spend

Three sample monthly budgets, every point at 1.0¢ (the Pay-with-Points floor we paid), fee subtracted, no credits counted. Estimates, not promises — your spend is the input that matters.

Run your own spend

Questions people ask

Which has the lower annual fee, Freedom Flex or Freedom Unlimited?
They're the same: $0 a year, as stated on the issuers' pages on 2026-08-30.
Does Freedom Flex or Freedom Unlimited charge foreign transaction fees?
Freedom Flex: foreign fee unconfirmed. Freedom Unlimited: foreign fee unconfirmed. Read off each issuer's page on 2026-08-30.
Which earns more on dining?
Freedom Flex states 3%; Freedom Unlimited states 3%.
Can I transfer points to airline and hotel partners?
Freedom Flex: no (14 partners on the official list). Freedom Unlimited: no (14 partners on the official list).
Which is better for me?
It depends on where your spend goes. The receipts on this page use sample spend profiles at 1.0¢ per point; the Card Stack Optimizer runs your own numbers against every card we track, net of the annual fee.
What we couldn't confirm
  • Freedom Flex: Network confirmed directly on issuer page as World Elite Mastercard.
  • Freedom Flex: Foreign transaction fee not stated on the fetched official product page — set to null rather than guessed.
  • Freedom Flex: Page does not mention Ultimate Rewards transfer partner eligibility for this card; transferPartners set to false per instructions default for Freedom cards.
  • Freedom Flex: Current rotating 5% category as of verification date (per issuer page, Jul-Sep 2026 quarter): Gas Stations, Public Transit, EV Charging, Select Live Entertainment, United Way. Categories rotate quarterly and require activation — do not treat as permanent.
  • Freedom Unlimited: Foreign transaction fee is not stated anywhere on the fetched official product page — set to null rather than guessed.
  • Freedom Unlimited: Network confirmed as Visa via Chase's own /visa-credit-cards listing page (card is not identified as Visa in plain text on its own product page). Whether it issues as Visa Signature or Visa Platinum reportedly depends on applicant creditworthiness/credit line per third-party sources — not confirmed on the issuer page itself.
  • Freedom Unlimited: Page does not state whether cash back/points on this card can be transferred to airline or hotel transfer partners; transferPartners set to false per instructions default for Freedom cards, not because the page affirmatively said so.

One email per trip report.

No card pitches. Unsubscribe in one tap.

List opens at launch.