Skip to content
PointsDog

Head to head · issuer terms as read 2026-08-30

Savor vs Citi Double Cash

Both charge $0 a year. Savor earns cash back; Citi Double Cash earns cash back (redeemable as ThankYou Points via conversion). Both have a cash floor we can stand behind at 1.0¢, so the receipts below compare them in the same unit.

On the published earn tables, Savor leads on dining & restaurants, groceries & supermarkets, streaming, phone & online shopping; Citi Double Cash leads on everything else; the rest tie. Neither page states a statement credit we could put a dollar figure on.

The terms, side by side

SavorCiti Double Cash
Annual fee$0$0
Foreign transaction feeNo foreign feeForeign fee unconfirmed
Earnscash backcash back (redeemable as ThankYou Points via conversion)
Transfers to partnersNoNo
Credits stated00
Welcome offer, as statedEarn a one-time $200 cash bonus once you spend $500 on purchases within the first 3 months from account openingNot shown on the public page we read

Earn rates by category, as stated

CategorySavorCiti Double Cash
Dining & restaurants3%base rate
Groceries & supermarkets3%base rate
Travel booked through the issuer's portal5%5%
Streaming, phone & online shopping3%base rate
Everything else1%2%

Green = the higher stated multiplier. Brand-specific, promotional and rotating rates are on each card page, not modeled here.

What each nets at sample spend

Three sample monthly budgets, every point at 1.0¢ (the Pay-with-Points floor we paid), fee subtracted, no credits counted. Estimates, not promises — your spend is the input that matters.

Run your own spend

Questions people ask

Which has the lower annual fee, Savor or Citi Double Cash?
They're the same: $0 a year, as stated on the issuers' pages on 2026-08-30.
Does Savor or Citi Double Cash charge foreign transaction fees?
Savor: no foreign fee. Citi Double Cash: foreign fee unconfirmed. Read off each issuer's page on 2026-08-30.
Which earns more on dining?
Savor states 3%; Citi Double Cash states no dining rate.
Can I transfer points to airline and hotel partners?
Savor: no. Citi Double Cash: no (20 partners on the official list).
Which is better for me?
It depends on where your spend goes. The receipts on this page use sample spend profiles at 1.0¢ per point; the Card Stack Optimizer runs your own numbers against every card we track, net of the annual fee.
What we couldn't confirm
  • Savor: Card network (Visa/Mastercard/Discover) could not be confirmed from the fetched issuer page — no network name appeared in the fetched content, and a dedicated pricing-terms URL returned 404. Set to null pending direct confirmation.
  • Savor: This is the Savor card (not SavorOne) per the requested slug; page content confirmed 3% grocery/dining/entertainment/streaming rate, not SavorOne's different structure.
  • Citi Double Cash: Foreign transaction fee: page states 'Fee for foreign purchases – % of the U.S. dollar amount of each purchase' but the percentage rendered as an unfilled placeholder in every fetch attempted. Could not confirm the exact percentage from the issuer page, so set to null rather than use a remembered/third-party figure.
  • Citi Double Cash: Welcome offer: page's bonus text also rendered as unfilled placeholders ('Earn $ cash back bonus after spending $ on purchases in the first months'). Could not confirm exact dollar amount or spend requirement from citi.com itself (third-party sites report $200/$1,500 in 6 months, but this is unconfirmed on the issuer page), so welcomeOffer.summary set to null.
  • Citi Double Cash: transferPartners set to false: the fetched page describes redeeming as cash, gift cards, Amazon, or travel, and did not state that points/cash back from this card can be transferred to airline/hotel ThankYou transfer partners (that capability is generally reserved for Citi Premier/Strata Premier/Prestige-tier cards); this card's cash back can be pooled with a transfer-eligible Citi card per general Citi ThankYou program rules, but that was not stated on the fetched page itself.
  • Citi Double Cash: Network confirmed via on-page statement: 'The Citi Double Cash® Card is a Mastercard credit card that provides Cardmembers with cash back rewards.'

One email per trip report.

No card pitches. Unsubscribe in one tap.

List opens at launch.